%3C%21-- Google tag (gtag.js) --%3E

Resetting Vector: Firmware Recovery and Clear User Data

Use Firmware Recovery Mode to force Vector to boot up on factory firmware. Recovery Mode will not delete any user data and may help with certain issues such as:

  • Vector failing to boot up
  • Vector unable to charge (this is indicated by teal Back Lights)
  • Blank screen while booted.
  • Error code between 200-219

To Boot Vector into Firmware Recovery Mode:

  1. Vector must on his charger and plugged into a power source (be sure to push him right to the back of the charger - you will see the LEDs flashing)
  2. Press and hold Vector’s Back Button for around 15 seconds in total until the rectangle furthest away from the circle LED lights up blueish white
  3. He will reboot and show "anki.com/v" on his screen ( Note: If you are using Vector Web setup for beta release please do not proceed to step 4 and instead continue to the clear user data reset instructions)
  4. Open the Vector app and reconnect to Vector
  5. Select the correct 4-character Vector identifier to pair the robot
  6. The app then allows Vector to scan for available home WiFi networks
  7. Once Vector has connected to the preferred WiFi network, he connects to the internet to access ANKI's servers
  8. Once connected successfully, Vector will download the latest firmware version from ANKI's server
  9. Vector will then reboot and connect to your device via WiFi to complete the setup

Clear User Data Reset

The Clear User Data reset is great for permanently removing Personally Identifiable Information such as images and faces Vector has met from your robot. Should you decide to sell your Vector robot, you should always do this before choosing a new owner for your Vector. Any previously installed Vector software will also be deleted but the current software will remain on the robot. To also delete the current software, use Recovery Mode. Clearing User Data is also a great troubleshooting step and can resolve many more "persistent" issues with Vector that have no other solution.

Please Note: This troubleshooting step will remove ALL data and you will need to set Vector up as a new robot. This step is permanent and any recognized faces, photos taken by Vector, and other data will be lost.

To Perform a Clear User Data Reset:

  1. Place Vector on his charger and plug the charger in.
  2. [If Vector is booting up, wait for the cloud logo to finish]
  3. Double click Vector’s Back Button
  4. Raise and lower Vector’s lift
  5. Turn his treads to move the arrow to "Clear User Data"
  6. Raise and lower Vector's lift to select "Clear User Data"
  7. Confirm the selection and wait for Vector to reboot
  8. Once Vector completes rebooting, you will be returned to the setup screen with "ddl.io/v".
    1. To set Vector up again (if you had to do this to fix a problem with Vector), please see How To Set Vector Up.
    2. If you are selling your Vector, leave him on this screen and long press his back button for 5 seconds until his screen goes blank to turn him off. Then package him up nice and safe for his new home.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us